Upcoming Events

Advisory Council

Dr. Louis Borgenicht

Pediatrician. Serves on the Utah Medical Association’s Environmental Committee and on the national board of directors for Physicians for Social Responsibility.


Dr. Jane Bowman

OB/GYN. Utah Section Chair of American College of Obstetricians & Gynecologists. Member of Utah Medical Association Environmental Committee and UMA representative to Utah's Mercury Workgroup. Public representative on the Governor’s Citizen Advisory Committee on the disposal of chemical weapons.


Margene Bullcreek

Chairperson of Ohngo Gaudadeh Devia Awareness and Goshute traditionalist and activist.


Rep. Rebecca Chavez-houck

Rebecca Chavez-Houck was appointed to complete the legislative term of Mayor Ralph Becker in January 2008 and was reelected to retain the seat representing District 24 in the Utah House of Representatives.

Rebecca's professional experience in non-profit administration and public affairs over the past 25 years includes positions with Centro de la Familia de Utah, Utah Public Employees' Association, Girl Scouts of Utah, Hal Gardiner Public Relations and the Utah Museum of Natural History. Rebecca has also cultivated another career as an activist and volunteer for myriad local nonprofit groups including: Intermountain Healthcare, Envision Utah, YWCA, KRCL Community Radio, Planned Parenthood Action Council, Utah State Democratic Party, ACLU, Plan-B Theatre Company, Utah AIDS Foundation, HEAL Utah, and the United Way of Salt Lake.


Mary Dickson

Downwinder, cancer survivor, and author of Downwinders All. Director of creative services at KUED (PBS). Board of Directors for Families Against Incinerator Risk, Salt Lake Acting Company, and the Utah Women’s Forum.

Ed Firmage

Samuel D. Thurman Professor of Law at the University of Utah, specializing in Constitutional and International law. National Honors Scholar at the University of Chicago Law School. Served as White House Fellow on the staff of Vice-President Hubert H. Humphrey, with responsibility for civil rights.


Claire Geddes

Consumer advocate and co-founder of Utah Legislative Watch. Over 15 years of experience working with legislators on important issues surrounding utilities and government accountability.


Boyer Jarvis

Former Vice President of the University of Utah.


Dr. Jerry Lazar



Jim McConkie

Attorney. Assistant US Attorney 1977-78. Administrative Assistant to US Representative Gunn McKay 1974-1977. Member of the Utah Supreme Court Advisory Council. Adjunct faculty at Westminster College, 1990-2000. Founder and Chairman of Citizens Against Radioactive Waste in Utah.


Dee Rowland

Government Liaison for the Catholic Diocese of Salt Lake City. Director of the Diocesan Peace & Justice Commission. Chair and Co-founder of the Utah Welfare Reform Coalition. Vice-president of Board, Centro de la Familia 1994-98. Board of Directors for United Way of the Great Salt Lake Area, 1991-97. President of Utah Issues Board of Directors. President of Utah League of Women Voters 1979-81.


Dr. Kent Staheli

Retired doctor and chair of the Salt Lake Rotary Club’s Environmental Health Committee; a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints Public Health Committee; a member of the Utah Medical Association’s Environmental Committee.


Barbara & Norman Tanner

Long-time community philanthropists who have been involved in nuclear disarmament and nuclear accountability projects.


Chip Ward

Co-founder of FAIR (Families Against Incinerator Risk), Citizens Against Chlorine Contamination, and West Desert HEAL; author of Canaries on the Rim: Living Downwind in the West and Hope’s Horizon: Three Visions for Healing the American Land. Assistant Director of the Salt Lake City Library System.


Terry Tempest Williams

Downwinder and author of Refuge: An Unnatural History of Family and Place, Leap, and RED: Passion and Patience in the Desert. Identified by Newsweek in 1991 as someone likely to make “a considerable impact on the political, economic, and environmental issues facing the western states this decade.” Served on the Governing Council of the Wilderness Society, the advisory council for the National Parks and Conservation Association, The Nature Conservancy, and the Southern Utah Wilderness Alliance. Inducted into the Rachel Carson Honor Roll. Fellow for the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation.